Ngoc Du Update 012509

To my Precious Brothers and Sisters in Christ;

My name is Ngoc Du, and I am excited to meet you all through Arise Medical Missions.  Its been such an exciting time for me as our Sweet Lord has been stretching and molding me this past year.  He is beginning to reveal to me what my purpose in life is to be.

First a little about myself:

I am a first generation Chinese American.  I was born in Vietnam, and I came to America wehn I was 2 years old.  I was raised in a Buddhist family and raised as a Daoist.  In my early college years, the Lord drew me to him through multiple different college courses where I was interested in studying about different philosophies and the science behind Christianity.  I realized after much research that indeed the Bible was accurate historically and that there truly was a man who once existed who claimed to love me and died for my sins.  After making a decision to follow Christ, the Lord brought me through such fire.  Some of it occured through my family who did not support my faith very much, but much of it occurred outside of that.  The Lord used this time to purge me of my past sins and the consequences of them.  He brought me to my knees time and time again.  In the 9 years since I’ve chosen to follow Him and 4 people in my family have died. My closest friends deserted me.  And yet through it all, one thing reigns clear in my heart – that the Lord is so faithful and he desires us to approach his throne with utter honesty.  And when we do, he shows us just how real He is, and pours His love into us that we may do the same to others.  (All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is our merciful Father and the source of all comfort. He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us.  For the more we suffer for Christ, the more God will shower us with his comfort through Christ. 2 Corinthians 1:3-5).

In June, I graduated from Medical School and started my Internship.  This process was a challenge in itself.  It was the first time I stepped out of “my little world” and saw the world as it really was.  As a doctor, it is difficult to remain optimistic about life when there is so much sin and so much suffering everywhere.  So many children overdosing on drugs, so many parents who have lost hope in life, so many families torn apart by adultery and violence.  And even in this dark and cold world, the Lord’s Word still stands and shines so bright.  I’ve learned not to place my hope and trust in mankind but in Christ and Him alone.

There is such a sweetness among those brothers and sisters in Christ who are actively laboring in doing the Lord’s work.  For the past 12 months, the Lord has placed one prayer on my heart – that I would be willing to love others through word and deed as much as the Lord has loved me, to be the hands and feet that aid the poor, weak, and weary.  1 Corinthians 13 speaks of love being the greatest of the eternal gifts that God gives us.  Biblical love is more than just an emotion or feeling, but represents a responsibility to do our utmost to make sure that others are cared for and walking in the Truth (John 21:16-17).  I believe the Lord will be doing just that with our team on this trip to Nepal, and I’m looking forward to seeing the Lord’s hand at work among us.

In Christ Love always,

Ngoc Du for Arise Medical Missions (US)

Dear friends; please help us give Ngoc Du a huge welcome into the Arise Family of short-term mission participants. God is leading her to Nepal this summer on a short-term trip as a means to consider further work in a restricted-access area of the world. We are totally relying on God to lead and direct her. If you would like to contribute to Ngoc Du’s trip to Nepal this summer, please don’t hesitate to send your contribution to the Arise Ministry Office in VA with her name in the comment field. Yes, it’s true. She is a doctor, in her “internship” and is sitting on thousands of dollars of student loans most likely. Still, we would be so thankful for any contribution towards her trip and perceive that as confirmation that the body of Christ stands together. Some of you might be thinking, “I wonder if Gina knows that there is an economic crisis going on?” Yes, I absolutely do, but you know what, there is a spiritual crisis that is going on in the world, raging, boiling and festering up, that far exceeds human reasoning or understanding. Love you guys for letting me walk in a spirit of honesty and truth.

To God be the glory! Amen.

Gina for Arise Medical Missions (US)

