Nepal Team Update (Austin) 081209

Well, it’s that time again. Time to wrap it up and get out of the country. Every time it happens, mixed feelings flood my mind. Happiness at going home, and sadness at leaving. I guess what struck me most was how friendly and accepting the kids are here.

When we arrived, it was hard to get the kids to say one word in English to us. Now, every time they run past me, I hear them yelling “Hello, Ostrin.” Yesterday, we had our last lesson at Dhaulagiri Boarding School. The lesson was popping balloons and answering the question on a rolled up piece of paper inside. We had a lot of fun, and I think classes 6, 7, and 8 did too.

The festivities ended when we broke the news that we weren’t coming back. A silence enveloped the room. When we asked them if they had any questions, the first was “When are you coming back?” When they were dismissed, they each got a piece of candy and a high-five.

It was really awesome to see that these kids had seemed to really like us. It was awesome to see the early fruits of this trip. Well, I can’t wait to get back, but I’m gonna miss those kids.

~Austin for Arise Medical Missions (Nepal)

