Nepal Team Update (Christen) 081209

This trip has been such a blessing to me in so many ways. Last night we had our devotions as a team, and then discussed certain things to pray for. Discussing those things reminded us all of the experiences we have had, the people we have met, and the lives that we have had an opportunity to impact.

I have been so blessed to be able to partner with a team here in Nepal, immerse myself in a culture so very different from my own, and use the gifts God has given me to bless others.

I have learned so much while being on this trip. One thing that has stood out to me the most is how very hard ministry is here. We always hear servants talk about ministry, and how it is hard in other cultures, but until we experience it,  I dont think that we can fully understand.

As I mentioned in my last blog, the physical demands of this trip have been very taxing. The Lxxd blessed me incredibly with energy and stamina despite my head cold, and He completely healed my knee (answer to prayer, I know), but the trip has not been easy.

To walk 14 miles a day to a remote village, and then only spend 1-2 hours actually doing ministry… some would call this a waste of time and energy. But I have learned while being here that this is what it takes to do ministry in Nepal. Just the fact that we walk like the locals (and dont take a Jeep), and that we are willing to do it just to teach English to a class has been a testimony to them and I have learned that here this is what it takes.

Sometimes we may only get to plant the seeds, and we may never see the fruit or maybe we just water the seeds from other planters. Either way, each step in the process is vital and important, and the hard work is SO worth it. God has taught me so much while being here.

Each day has been a learning experience and an opportunity to be stretched even further in my own faith, and I am just so grateful that God provided me with this opportunity. I left America thinking that I would teach and minister to the people of Nepal, and I am coming away from Nepal knowing that instead they have taught and ministered to me.

God is so good. Praise be to His name!

~Christen for Arise Medical Missions (Nepal)

