Kenya Team Update 101809

Isaiah 53 “1 Who believes what we’ve heard and seen? Who would have thought God’s saving power would look like this?”

That is exactly how I’m feeling about Kenya right now. Yes, I had a great night of sleep although I’m very turned around from such a quick back-and -forth experience. Strangely though, the impact that this trip has had on me seems to be fundamentally the same in ways as when I have returned from a lengthy stay in days gone by.

The above passage is from my daily devotions and it seems applicable for my experience. I just can’t hardly believe what I’ve heard and seen from being around those faithful servants of the Lord. Isaiah says, “Who would have thought God’s saving power would have looked like this?”

Somehow, in the midst of tragedy, these guys and gals just won’t let up. Just like it says in 2 Thes. 3-4″You need to know, friends, that thanking God over and over for you is not only a pleasure; it’s a must. We have to do it. Your faith is growing phenomenally; your love for each other is developing wonderfully. Why, it’s only right that we give thanks. We’re so proud of you; you’re so steady and determined in your faith despite all the hard times that have come down on you. We tell everyone we meet in the churches all about you.”

I can honestly say that I was downright sad to leave the team. I couldn’t believe how well everyone was getting along and when we had to flip over into a new plan of action i.e. Plan A, B, C… the team flipped without an ounce of flipping out. Yikes… can you imagine a trip that was just filled with praise and thanksgiving because everyone just seemed to truly be on the same playing field.

You’re probably thinking right about now, “Wow, Gina must have had some pretty tough mission experiences recently?” Well, let’s just say that I’ve had a few, but unfortunately, they were enough to really challenge my faith in the Brethren. But not here… this group was smoking.

I guess God really knew that I needed it and believe me when I say that I really begged Carl to leave me behind primarily because of my commitments at work. I’m now sitting on a great deal of catch-up with almost zero time of re-entry to take on the week. Fortunately for me, God has reminded me to to get started by spending some time with him and that is exactly what I intend to do.

It’s been great to get home and check on our sons. I was thankful to be able to see my in-law’s briefly and know that they are well. Still, nothing has replaced the confirmation that God has something brewing for us in our near future as it relates to the location that we visited. It’s just that simple.

~Gina for Arise Medical Missions

P.S. Please don’t stop praying for our traveler’s who will soon be making it home. Sometimes it’s easy to write prayer needs off when it looks as if all is going well, but we’re not there just yet… not until every single last body returns to their perspective destination.

