Carl Update 122909

Dieses Mal habe ich zuerst in Englisch geschrieben – deshalb ist das Deutsch ein bisschen holprig.

This time I started off in Englisch, so the German sounds a little funny .

So I’m a little late for Christmas wishes, I hope you have and had a blessed time. This year Christmas became quiet special being in Jordan the first week of December and experience ancient settings that helped me realize how it could have been when Jesus was born. No nice romantic stable scene, but dirt, dust and a long, weary journey. Jesus left all the glory in heaven for the poorest conditions one can imagine. All because of love.

A God who started of His relationship with you like this – can you imagine He would ever fail You? So for me the verse of the year 2010 from the Moravians really settles it. Don’t let your heart be troubled. God was, is and will be in control.

The last months in my life are really a proof for this. There had been highlights like my trip to Nepal, deep valleys in my family life, reliability in precious relationships and overall my trustworthy Jesus.

Auch wenn ich mit Weihnachtsgrüßen ein bisschen spät dran bin – ich hoffe, ihr hattet eine gesegnete Zeit. Dieses Jahr wurde Weihnachten sehr besonders durch unsere Reise nach Jordanien Anfang Dezember. Die Ursprünglichkeit der Lebensweise dort, die an die biblische Zeit erinnert, machten die Weihnachtsgeschichte sehr real. Keine romantische Stall-Szene, sondern Dreck, Staub und einen lange, ermüdende Reise. Jesus hat all die Herrlichkeit im Himmel verlassen und gegen die ärmlichsten Verhältnisse eingetauscht, die man sich vorstellen kann. Und alles aus Liebe zu uns.

Ein Gott, der Seine Beziehung mit uns so beginnt – nicht vorstellbar, dass Er uns jemals im Stich lässt. Für mich fasst die Jahreslosung für 2010 dies alles zusammen: Euer Herz erschrecke nicht. Gott war, ist und wird immer in Kontrolle sein.

Die letzten Monate meines Lebens sind ein Beweis dafür. Es gab Höhepunkte wie meine Reise nach Nepal, tiefe Täler in meinem Familienleben, Beziehungen, die mir wertvoll sind und über allem mein Jesus, verlässlich und treu.

My special Christmas story this year happened yesterday at the street-café. Here’s from the blog yesterday:

Meine besondere Weihnachtsgeschichte in diesem Jahr hat sich gestern im Straßencafé zugetragen. Hier ein Auszug aus meinem Blog:

Prepared for doing the dishes I was happy to have the opportunity to talk to a lady I got to know a little bit last time. She is in her fifties, really simple minded, half blind and the sweetest character you ever met. We had a good talk and all of a sudden she looked at me. You could tell she started to put some trust in me. “I have to tell you something”, she said. “Yesterday evening, on Christmas eve (for American friends: main Christmas day to celebrate in Germany) I was in my bed, already sleeping. All of a sudden there was a warm, bright light that woke me up. What could that have been?” she asked me and looked at me, still in surprise. “Were you afraid?” I asked back. “Not at all”, she answered. I smiled. We had talked before about being alone and that I thought it not a good idea to have any boyfriend only not to be alone. “I know”, I said. “That was Jesus showing you that He cares for you and that you are not alone.” “But what was the light?” she kept on asking, looking at me in disbelieve. “It’s like with the shepherds and the angels”, I told her. All my life I won’t forget the smile on her face when she started to understand. “Of course”, she whispered. “It is like Christmas. It had been Christmas eve and of course it is like Christmas.”

In moments like this I just want to hug my Jesus and never, ever let Him go. (What I won’t do at all, for no means!) That is why He came. That is pure, plain simple Christmas.

Eigentlich war ich darauf eingestellt, zu spülen, aber dann freute ich mich, ein bisschen mit einer Dame reden zu können, die ich letztes Mal kennen gelernt hatte. Sie ist Anfang 50, sehr einfach, halbblind und eine total liebe Person. Wir hatten ein gutes Gespräch und plötzlich sah sie mich eindringlich an. Man konnte sehen, dass sie langsam anfing, mir zu vertrauen. „Ich muss dir etwas erzählen“, sagte sie. „Gestern, am Heiligen Abend, war ich in meinem Bett, ich habe schon geschlafen. Plötzlich war da ein warmes, helles Licht, von dem ich aufgewacht bin. Was könnte das gewesen sein?“ fragte sie mich und sah mich fragend an, immer noch verwundert. „Hattest du Angst?“ fragte ich zurück. „Überhaupt nicht“, antwortete sie. Ich lächelte. Wir hatten davor darüber gesprochen, wie es ist, alleine zu sein. Ich hielt es für keine gute Idee, sich einfach irgendeinen Freund zu suchen, nur, um nicht alleine zu sein. „Ich weiß es“, sagte ich. „Das war Jesus der dir zeigte, dass Er sich um dich kümmert und dass du nicht alleine bist.“ „Aber was war das Licht?“ fragte sie weiter und sah mich ungläubig an. „Es ist wie mit den Hirten und den Engeln“, sagte ich ihr. Mein ganzes Leben werde ich dieses Lächeln auf ihrem Gesicht nicht vergessen, als sie zu begreifen begann. „Natürlich“, flüsterte sie. „Es ist wie an Weihnachten. Es war ja Heiliger Abend und natürlich, es ist wie Weihnachten.“

In Augenblicken wie diesen möchte ich Jesus am liebsten umarmen und ihn nie, nie wieder loslassen (was ich auch niemals vorhabe!!). Das ist, warum Er kam. Das ist, reine, wahre, wirkliche Weihnachten.

Many blessings – Dameria

chapel kids @ calvary chapel siegen e.v.

alte eisenstrasse 6 . 57080 siegen

0049-171-3459794

www.chapelkids.blogspot.com

Additional note from Carl… Dameria went with us this summer to the Mustang Region of Nepal and she was nothing short of a true blessing in helping us with all of the activities that occurred. She will be returning to Nepal this summer with a German team and we are just glad to hear it! What a blessing she is to everyone she comes in contact with.

~Carl for Arise Medical Missions

