Gina Update 031510

Well, it’s day three of the conference at Lady Lake and it has been just great and so worth our time and attendance. The people have been beyond warm and welcoming and it’s just so good to be around people who are spirit-filled and God-directed. Every member of this congregation is pretty much over 60 years of age and God really spoke to my heart about this yesterday when I listened to them all sitting and laughing with each other.

It wasn’t just the usual laugh but it was “belly” laughing. I tell you what… these elders know how to have a good time and to smile and laugh whenever they get the opportunity to. I notice how that is missing from my own peer-directed interactions. Sure, we laugh but not like these people were laughing. These people laugh like they don’t have a care in the world – except that they do. These people listen differently. You know what I mean… they are fully attentive.

I’ve spent a fair amount of time trying to figure this all out because as I said, it’s something that is missing from my own generation. It’s a whole different mindset for Christians and something worth taking note of. All I know is that I want to be just like that in my own Christian walk, no if ands or buts about it.

Today will be my last afternoon here. I’m leaving around 3 PM in preparation of getting back home to the boys and Austin off to Civil Air Patrol this evening. Work is calling and so are other responsibilities with me needing to be out of town again by next weekend. This is when I say “breathe” and take it one step at a time.

Just finished doing devos and will now pray post blog writing. Still, thoughts surround Carl’s well-being and I continue to engage in day counting until his return. Yikes… need to get those thoughts to rest on God more and Carl less 🙂 Of course, Carl would agree with that. How about your thoughts today… God or other stuff?

Kind regards for all of your continued prayers.

~Gina for Arise Medical Missions (Lady Lake, FL)

P.S. Any medical providers available to stage themselves in Nairobi for a single month. Elections are coming up and we have a request to stage a medical provider for them? This will be for the purpose of remaining on call and sitting in the back of a small plane doing medical transport in the event of an emergency. Sure would love to have you if you fit the bill and yes, I said a month.

