Gina Update 112310

Checking in at 4:22 PM and am between work shifts. Not sure how much turkey, stuffing, green beans, mac and cheese, and more that we’ve made now but it’s in the hundreds and equates to many meals. I love being busy like this although I’m very tired… but it’s a very good kind of tired and really, who in the world could ever complain?

My hardest time continues to be in the wee hours of the morning. Last night, I was listening to Third Day… Carl’s favorite Christian music group and remembered our love for the songs that were being piped in over the loudspeaker. I cried and cried while I kept making stuffing… the tears just kept coming quietly but people wouldn’t stop hugging me as they walked by, or tapping me on the shoulder, or giving me a quick hand squeeze.

Finally, at one point, one of the chefs called out my name, came over, had direct eye contact with me and said, “Gina… look up.” That was all it took. Eyes on Jesus and the sadness and pain went away again, just as before. Fortunately, by the time 3:30 AM rolled around, I was good and tired and needed to be up at 6:30 AM for devotions and our team meeting.

Someone told me today, “We’re so glad that you came Gina. Wow! Your group is a real blessing to us all.” It was funny because I couldn’t help but say, “Actually, I’m here for myself. I’m in a bad place right now and trying to get through Thanksgiving as I know it which was beginning to feel like a matter of life and death to me. I’m here because I choose life.” He just smiled and said, “I know what you mean.”

If you think of it, please pray that our team would stay safe and that our leadership would not grow weary. Quite a few of the group are suffering from GI illness and I’m sure that Curt and his beautiful wife Mary Jo must be good and tired by now but you would never know it. They just continue to press on selflessly and without complaint. I’m so grateful that I have my amazing brothers and sisters in Christ to help me get through my first Thanksgiving alone.

God is so good! I hope each one of you are well into the Thanksgiving celebration as you prepare for what’s about to take place. There really is so much to be thankful for that it doesn’t take long to start counting the blessings we often take for granted. It is my sincere hope and prayer that you won’t treat a single moment of the next few days carelessly… just don’t let yourself do it. How I wish that I could have seized every moment of my life before this happened and tried to make it even better than it was. I suppose that’s just one of the many things I need to let go of when I’m looking up.

Love in Christ Jesus,

~Gina for Arise Medical Missions

