Gina Update 121010 1306

Well, I made it in one piece to London and then took the bus from Gatwick to Terminal 5. Then I waited 2 hours for a bus to take me to my next destination. Then I had to empty a bag so I could dry heave into it no less than five times- quietly of course. Hmmm… things are going really well so far.

I can see snow on the ground and failed to mention that I had to slip into a bathroom and put on my snow pants before I went outside because of the chill. Long story short, it took me 11 hours to get here and I’ve just had a brilliant cup of tea with milk in it, in a white china tea cup no less. The shopkeeper says “You look pale. You better have a seat.” Then she says, “Are you married?” Wow! I must have this invisible sign hung around my pale neck that says something I can’t see? I quickly change the subject.

Last of all, my taxi driver’s first words to me are, “Why the hxll were you hugging our receptionist?” OK, here’s the story. I got off the bus after hours and hours of dry heaving and sure enough, God put a taxi stand in front of the bus station that is somewhat enclosed. In I go and the smoke is so thick that I can hardly see the grumpy receptionist behind the counter.

Still, she’s a woman after my own heart. She’s got a bucket and she’s mopping the floor. Man… I wonder if she would mind if I did a little mopping to help settle my nerves? She’s grouchy and I’m sick, but it doesn’t take long for us to embark on a good conversation.

I instantly like her. I don’t know what it is about her but I really have to say that I like her alot so far. The place is old and dingy but the ceiling and walls are covered with Christmas lights. The coffee machine is broke and the snack machine is empty but it all feels OK kind of sort of. So in the end, the driver pulls up and honks and I go to shake her hand but somehow, it turns into a Merry Christmas goodbye hug instead.

He’s funny… “So, again… why is a 30 year old hugging a 50 year old?” Hmmm. I tell him, “Maybe God wanted her to have a hug.” Suddenly the conversation comes to a dead stop. He swiftly adds, “I don’t believe in all of that…” I promptly add that I’ld be dead without God in my life. Then I say… “The world might be a better place if there was more hugging and less fighting.” Quickly he shares, “Maybe so, but there will always be fighting.”

Good rule to commit to memory… when strangers from unknown origins seem to be a bit too friendly, just start talking about God and hugging.

~Gina for Arise Medical Missions

Psalm 62:1-2: My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress; I will never be shaken.  Psalm 62:5-7: Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.  He alone is my rock and salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.  My salvation and my honor depend on God, he is my mighty rock, my refuge.


